Which Dog Breeds Are Banned in China?

Mastiff banned in ChinaChina is known to have strict rules and regulations when it comes to pets and animals and unfortunately, this isn’t relaxed when it comes to dogs. Although China doesn’t ban the import of any dog breeds, there are breed restrictions in Shanghai, Chengdu and Beijing and it’s important for all dog owners to be aware of the restrictions in each city they intend to visit as the rules can vary.

If you’re thinking of taking your dog to China, you might want to check our handy guide to see whether your dog is allowed in these main cities of China:

Table of Contents


In 2011, over 20 dog breeds were banned in Shanghai and it was stated that any of these fierce dogs kept by private households would be take away.

Similarly, in August this year, a new rule was enforced banning dogs from being registered as “mixed breed” after an incident with a rottweiler that was wrongfully registered as a mixed breed.

Both of these laws are now fully enforced, and the following dogs are banned from the city of Shanghai:

Tibetan Mastiff (Tibetan Mastiff), Mastiff (Mastiff), Rottweiler (Rottweiler), Italy twisted Boli Dayton (Neopolitan Mastiff, Italian Mastiff alias Napoleon Mastiff), Bordeaux Mastiff (Dogue de Bordeaux, French Mastiff alias), Bull Mastiff (Bull Mastiff), the Spanish Mastiff (Spanish Mastiff), Caucasian dogs (Caucasian Vcharka), Pyrenean Mastiff (Pyrenean Mastiff), Brazil Rockefeller (Fila Braziliero, alias the Brazilian Mastiff), Dogo Argentina Mastiff (Argentinean Dogo Mastiff), horse mastiff (Danish Broholmer) and other Mastiff Mastiff descent, and hybridization with dogs; Beauceron Wolfdog, Kunming wolfdog, China Dog, German Shepherd Dog, English Bulldog, Old English Bulldog, American Bulldog, Japanese Tosa, Bull Terrier, Doberman.


Following many incidents with dogs making the headlines in China, in November 2018, the city of Chengdu banned a total of 22 dog breeds in several restricted areas around the city, including major Chengdu districts such as Wuhou, Chenghua, Jinjiang and Jinniu. The breeds that were banned were described as “larger dogs, or those known for their sometimes aggressive nature’.

All dogs falling under that category that are now banned in Chengdu are listed below:

Mastiff, Pit Bull Terriers including American Staffordshire Terriers and Staffordshire Bull Terriers, Akita, Dogo Argentino, German Shepherd, Chinese Chongqing, Borzoi, Newfoundland, Cane Corso, Central Asian Shepherd dog, Great Dane, Dog de Bordeaux, Fila Brasileiro, Irish Wolfhound, Caucasian Shepherd, Kumming Wolfdog, Chinese Dog.


In 2003, Beijing passed the overall regulation on dog breeding and when the rule took effect it stated that ‘large and vicious dogs as well as dogs of maturity height over 35 centimetres’ were no longer allowed in key management areas in the city, basically the districts that make up the heart of the capital.

Guide dogs and other similar helper dogs were all excluded from the ban but the breeds that were included in the ban are listed below:

Mastiff, German Pinscher, St. Bernard, Great Dane, Great Pyrenees, Bernese mountain dog, Rottweiler, Weimaraner, Setters, Afghan hound, Foxhound, Bloodhound, Irish wolfhound, Saluki, Greyhound, Borzoi, Basenji, Australian shepherd, Belgian shepherd, Bouvier des Flandres, Bearded Collie, Scottish shepherd, German shepherd, Old English sheepdog, British bulldog, Chow chow, Dalmatian, Keeshond, Japanese Akita, Newfoundland Sled dog, Bedlington terrier, Bull terrier, Kerry blue terrier.